Taking a second look at LISA

The creator of LISA and slToyBox contacted me to clarify a few issues that I had when Mathew Ordinary introduced me to LISA. Apparently, a lot of folks didn’t take too kindly to Mathew’s style of marketing and he was fired. KaiKonn is a very helpful person and technical. Just like myself, he has worked on real life web applications that are heavily trafficed.

My main concern was the debit permission requests on the inventory servers themselves. They were also constant (spammy) if you denied or didn’t answer. KaiKonn tried to clarify why the debit permissions were necessary. It has something to do with splitting funds.

The background of LISA appears to have been based on in-world servers. In-world servers without a web interface often deal with debit permissions. This is different though for most web based servers. For instance, I have web-based drop boxes for many different store fronts. None of them asked me for debit permissions. This is because all the money is handled on a web site (in escrow). If I make a sale, I go to the website and ask it to pay me in-world at a later time. If I need to buy something, then I find a terminal and pay it (or pay a “bot” directly). With LISA, the money is not handled on the web site. This is very unique compared to any other web-based market place. This is so that retailers and designers do not need to visit the site daily to retrieve their funds from the daily sales. If this is a feature desired by individuals, I don’t see why you can’t have a setting in the site itself to release funds as they are acquired from sales.

LISA is a complex system. It is more like a bunch of systems. You have a server that represents your store, and another for your inventory. If you wish to sell the products in world, then you’ll need a third server for “retail” and then you setup your sales vendors. There is documentation that walks you through each step, but I was finding it to be difficult to get setup on my own and asked KaiKonn plenty of questions.

Many parts of the site are still in development, and I was finding errors in performing various tasks. Much of the site is developed with a user centered approach rather than human centered. It is difficult to edit product listings, such as the order of features. I was a bit confused as to how a product is meant to be listed as well. There are multiple types of feature sections for each product. I believe this is one of the areas that he is still refining and may see many new improvements and fixes in the future. One thing that I did like was that I could embed you-tube videos as strait HTML in the product listing. It does leave me to wonder how vulnerable that HTML is, especially if I can add scripts to read cookies or submit forms to purchase products without the end-user being aware of it.

I’m slowly figuring out the system, but the learning curve is pretty steep. The other day, I setup a product listing in 10 different web-based markets in just one night. In this system, it’s taken me most of the night to list one product. It really needs an approach that leads to a quick setup if it’s going to take off. I’m still looking for that “Ah ha!” moment where something jumps out and really makes the site stand out as being useful. There are supposedly graphic reports for sales, as well as a way to see average visit lengths of visitors to stores. I just haven’t gotten around to seeing them in action yet.

posted by Dedric Mauriac on Deep House Island using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

