You are doing it wrong!


I was continuing my adventures with JQuery UI, and then came to the realization that I was doing something … stupid. I was transforming data into HTML to determine which icon to display, and then sending it to the client. With the ability to process columns as they are bound on the flexigrid, I was able to bring that transformation to the client-side. This not only helps processing power (very, very minimal), but it aslo helps reduce the overall bandwidth. I shaved off about 64 characters for each row. With a rowset of 10 items, that’s about 640 bytes in each request. Not too much, but you can start to see how it adds up with each page request.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Woodbridge using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

