Memory with LSL vs Mono


I’ve been working on my inventory server again in regards to optimizations. I’ve really cut it down to size while retaining much of the functionality that I had originally put into it. One thing that strikes me is the size of memory available when it’s compiled in Mono or LSL. LSL has a limit of 16 KB. The free memory reports 12,431 bytes free, so it’s safe to assume that the script itself takes up about 3.5 KB. Mono has a limit of 64 KB and reports that I have 48,298 bytes free; resulting in code roughly 16 KB in size. With Mono scripts taking up roughly four times the memory for the same written code, it’s understandable why the memory limit was increased to 64KB for mono.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Woodbridge using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

