A look into XYText images


CodeBastard RedGrave was talking about how my images were compressed compared to XYText. I started to take a look at the XYText images. I found that they had a pyramid look to them. This is inefficient because each row has unused whitespace. If XYText had used the entire texture, they could have saved 5 images. They used 512×512 images, giving a better resolution, but takes longer to download individual images. However, this may help improve the blurryness that I see when I’m at a distance from my own 256×256 textures. It appears that they use reversed pairs. I had problems getting this to work on my own and have more images as a result. I’ll have to take another look at my solution.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Motru using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

