Making Faces


I found out about CyberExtruder.com yesterday. They offer some software that lets you use an existing photo of yours, and then create an avatar skin from it. I pulled my hair back to get a better picture. The software is free, but you can’t save unless you purchase licenses in batches of 10 saves for $10 USD. The quality looks great until you upload the skins into Second Life. I think it has to do with the limitations of the pixel depth in Second Life itself. Afterwards, I was spending a lot of time getting my avatar to look like me, as well as shopping for hair that makes me look a bit more like the real me. The hairs a bit too flowey, but I can’t find anything closer to me yet.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Nikita Fride using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

2 Responses to Making Faces

  1. lol – it’s about time you get a makeover. If you get one, maybe Hamlet Au and Philip Linden will get one as well.

    From the (few) RL pics I saw of you, you might go shopping for hair in a more roleplay-oriented area. Many male fantasy-avatars go for long, ponytailed hair. There’s bound to be something on some medieval roleplay sims.

    As for skins, I’d rather suggest a well done male skin instead of an attempt at photorealism (which I usually think is a bit creepy). My “new” skin is from PXL – you might want to check them out.

  2. I was looking for pony tail hair as I often wear one. Thanks for the tip. I’ll check out the RP sims.

