LSL, A language without string replacement


One of my biggest head aches with LSL is with string replacement. I do not know of any other language that doesn’t offer this capability. This is the function that I would love to see (SVC-1085): string llReplaceString(string haystack, string needle, string replacement); So, llReplaceString(“Hello”, “ell”, “ipp”) would result in “Hippo”. Without this function, I have the option of finding string indexes, cutting substrings, checking string length, and concatenating the results. The other option is to use a trick with lists and null values. Lists eat away at memory & time, but use less code. The other problem I have is llUnescapeURL. It doesn’t unescape space characters encoded with plus signs (SVC-4900).
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Norwegian Forest using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

