Microsoft TrueSpace is free

I started using drawing tools with AutoCad 13 and 3D studio release 4. They were available at the labs at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh, but not for students to work at home. The price was phenominal as well. The alternative was pretty much TrueSpace since it was affordable – which was cool because it worked on Windows. Later, 3D studio also came out for Windows. I’ve always known about Calgari’s TrueSpace and had used it in the past. 3D modeling had long faded from being a hobby over the years after my hard drive was ruined from a trip where my mom transported my computer in the open rain for a few hours. Although I’ve started doing a lot of work in 3D with Second Life, it doesn’t provide anywhere near the power of most stand-alone 3D modeling tools.

Much to my surprise, I discovered that TrueSpace is free. I thought it was maybe an older version that was free, to promote a newer one. Reading the news, they stated that yes, TrueSpace has been free since July of 2008. Where was I all this time? In addition … Microsoft (of all companies) has acquired Calgari (the company that published TrueSpace). In addtion, my little space navigator is supported in TrueSpace with a separate driver download. So now I’m downloading TrueSpace for my 3D modeling hobbies that isn’t as complex as blender or as expensive as 3DS Max or Maya. Still, I need to relearn everything I forgot.

So the big questions are:

Why did Microsoft purchase this company/software?

Will the product still be in development and get new features?

Will Microsoft eventually charge for newer versions?

Is Microsoft considering using the truePlay/trueServe to setup a virtual world? (Maybe something to do with virtual/deep earth?)

2 Responses to Microsoft TrueSpace is free

  1. radar says:

    I don’t know, but it looks like this happened in early Feb 2008, and TS 7.6.1 was released in May of 2009, so it looks like Calgari under MS ownership is still developing it.

    I actually looked at this awhile back, but it’s Windows only, and there’s almost nothing that I’ll boot into Windows on a regular basis for. All my tools and software are in OS X, and aside from the inconvenience factor, I just don’t want to support software companies that won’t support the way I work.

  2. Lewis Moten says:

    I did a search in my email and found that Calgari had actually notified me that it was free. Most of my email from them is not read.

    I understand where you are coming from with booting into different OS’s. I have a virtual PC to work with Linux based operating systems from time to time – but since it is not my primary environment, I look for software that does not depend on Linux alone. Actually, most software for Linux is available for Windows anyway.

    Usually I find Torley making recommendations for Mac OS X software, but it’s pointless for me as it usually doesn’t run on Windows, and my Mac is out of the way collecting dust.

