Equation of a Parabola


After working out how one of the game devices works in my game, I found that I needed a way to make a leveling formula that translates XP into levels. I needed each sequential level to require more XP then the previous level. Enter Parabola’s! Using simple Algebra, I was able to create a method that would allow me to start at 0,0 vertex and identify a cordinate that the parabola crosses. For fun, I entered 50, 50000 (7Seas needs 50,000 XP to reach level 50). I worked it out to the simplified equation of and found a simple equation of x = 20y^2. I was able to create more equations and work out different parabola’s to setup my game to get harder over time.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Woodbridge using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

Comments are closed.

