1 Prim Tic-Tac-Toe


I was playing around with ideas this past weekend contiplating what the bare minimum was to make a game of tic-tac-toe. I came up with an image to represent all 27 different posabilities in an individual row composing of just 27 characters of x/o/space. (xxxo-ooox-xoo—o-xx–x-oxo). I proceeded to map map the image in Second Life and then detect touch events to determine what face and position was touched. The end-result was a game of Tic-Tac-Toe with one clipped 512×32 image representing each row. The code is pretty light-weight as well with just 169 lines of LSL.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Woodbridge using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

2 Responses to 1 Prim Tic-Tac-Toe

  1. Pretty cool, I think right now the face position stuff is only supported in the RC clients (1.21.x) and the 1.20 versions can’t pass that information in yet. I did a test with Arri the other night where he was running 1.20 and i was in 1.21.3 and my click gave me back specific x,y,z info on where I clicked the face, and his click just gave back the global coordinate location of the touched prim’s x,y,z regardless of where he touched it.

  2. Actually the lindens suggest in their wiki that this is an optional feature for clients and you can detect support for it by checking the touched face first. I suppose I could look more into that.

