Over 10,000 customers

I finally got around to parsing the HTML of my JEVN logs hosted on an off-world JEVN log storage service. The service had moved, so I’m still missing a lot of sales that were not captured months after I realized that the service was not working. After creating a CSV and importing it into my Microsoft Access database, the grand total of customers is up to 10,098. That’s roughly 10 new unique customers per day. I believe the majority of them are probably non-paying customers who grabbed one of my freebies. I haven’t been able to put many “global” reports together just yet to dig into the data.

I have been able to mine most of the keys for my customers through the w-hat Name2Key service. There are 520 of them that do not ressolve into anything. I’ve tried linking to a CSV file that the w-hat folks offer for download, but it takes a long time just to look-up one key. I’m debating on setting up SQL Server Express to host the data so it will be much quicker. Having the keys allows me the capability of automating my product update distribution.

With LSL Mono just around the corner, a lot of people are going to want products with Mono compiled scripts to bring down any potential lag in different regions. I want to get a global summary of all products that I’ve sold to understand what product has sold the most. This way, I can concentrate on upgrading popular products first, and then work my way down the list.

I have not sent out product updates in a long time. As I recall, sending out product updates in the past with SL Courier (from the makers of JEVN) actually had a few people comming back to my store to see what else was new. There is a conflict brewing where I am not sure if it is better to push product updates out to people, or to have them request an update through update servers such as *MEG*. Both seem to have pro’s and cons. Courier requires me to manage a list of people who should get the update (done), and supply all keys (mostly done), and separeate updates between roughly 1,000 people at a time (bah!). MEG requires customers to actively check for updates, or to have a product constatly rezzed that will check. Once a MEG server has its key changed, the customes update checker is out-dated and will no longer work properly. Since there is a communications area here, it is remotely possible that someone could hack the MEG server. However, the server does have a few safe guards to protect itself and warn me of intrusion detection.

Comments are closed.

