Gridnaut Linden Bear


Well, it’s official. I’ve been able to log in with the Open Grid public beta client and teleport to other sims hosted by people with OpenSIM. I was able to visit Whump Lindens sim and got a special code to use back on the main grid to grab a gridnaut bear. I’m still having difficulty getting connected to my own sim through Linden Lab. I have ports open, firewalls down, static ip and configuration files correct as per instructions. Hopefully I’ll figure out what is going on. At this point, I’m asking friends to try and log-in, hoping it’s just an internal network issue.
posted by Dedric Mauriac on Ambleside using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

2 Responses to Gridnaut Linden Bear

  1. Royer Pessoa says:

    Probably a routing issue. Gotta use a hostname. Outside it should be published via DNS like dedric.sl.com, and that would resolve to your external Internet IP. Inside, on you client machine edit your hosts file and add a local entry for the same host name, like 192.168.0.123 dedric.sl.com. That should help. Hosts file in Windows c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts.

  2. I’ve only been using IP addresses such as 127.0.0.1, 192.168.1.109, and 68.54.244.3. I even went so far as to get a dynamic dns name assigned for lewie.is-a-geek.com, but I am still having problems. The good news is, my friends can get into it, so I is not a firewall issue. The bad news – It seems that now I can’t even log into the Open Grid client at all. Really weird …

