I-World Expo


The Lindens are opening a new “Linden” island next weekend. It looks like they are starting to become more active in the community and offering a place that could compete with Yadni’s Junkyard. The idea is to setup a centralized place to get freebies to help folks out. I have already submitted my application to offer 14 freebies of my own. It would be nice to have an official place to get freebies, but I wonder if they will continue to manage it over time, or if it will be essentially ignored and hard to get new submissions added.

My ticket as follows:

I have many freebies that I am willing to submit for the island. Please let me know if you would like one, some, or all of them. I have included a screen shot of how I advertise them to help you get a visual reference of what they are. Here are some short descriptions. Each freebie is open source if scripts are provided.

ELIZA chat bot – operates fully on LSL script and note cards. Some people have made their own derivatives (such as the Hillary bot). Fully commented to help people learn to script chat bots.

Local Teleporter – teleports visitors within 300 meters. Fully commented. Easy to setup.

360 Floor Mat – rotating compass marks randomly changes color every few minutes. Also changes size and location (within 10 meters of “home”). Goes great with dance floors.

Synthesized voice box – Simulates speech with allophones. This was the only way I could speak to people before voice was available with the SL client. You’ll find a copy of it in the SL3B vault. The voice sounds like a robot. Fully open source and commented. Comes with 59 sound clips to form words.

Halloween Candy – click a bowl of candy and a random piece of candy is handed to you. Good for Halloween and learning how to hand out random items from inventory.

Unfortunate Cookie – A parody of how horrible fortunes are in todays cookies. Touch to get a random “unfortunate” messages with frown faces. Unlucky numbers are listed as negative numbers. Great to learn how to read a random line of text from a note card. Also has sorting of lists to show the negative numbers in correct order.

7th Son – The first podcast episode from seventh son fully uploaded to Second Life (with permission from the author). This viral marketing item not only has the ability to play a 45 minute podcast, but the script is fully open source with many powerful audio and memory management features.

Hippo Xing Pants – What would Second Life be without your very own pants featuring the mascott of this virtual world? This item was submitted as an entry in the “Get Philip In Your Pants” contest to replace Philip Linden’s classic pants with rhinestones in the crotch. This pair is an upgrade featuring a hippo with rhinestone eyes. Alone the side it says “Hippo Xing” (crossing) for those folks that love to travel and cross the sims.

Skype Status Indicator – This box allows people to walk up and touch it to reveal the on-line status of the owner on Skype. Open source.

Category Menu Demo – This script shows you how to display a menu, and then display a sub-menu based on the first choice that was chosen.

Classic Top Hat – This freebie is the first item that I made for myself in second life. I hand it out free to everyone to share.

Dedric Mauriac Brrrr… – As I collect bears from Lindens, I hand my own personalized bear back. If I was a Linden, This is the bear that would be mine. It’s blue ears are similar to my blue hair that I am always wearing. The bear is so cool, he was named Brrrr… Residents can modify and decorate the bear on their own as well.

Partridge pear tree – A winning entry to represent the “First day of Christmas”. This is a pear made to look like a tree. It is hollowed out to show a bird inside and four birds around the base representing the Partridge Family. You have to see it to get the picture.

Street Light – This modern street light was created early when “Light” was a material. I used them to let my parcel be lit up so I wouldn’t trip over skate boards and other prim litter on my parcel. Simple and elegant.

Dedric Mauriac’s Freebies


posted by Dedric Mauriac on Linden Estate Services using a blogHUD : [blogHUD permalink]

3 Responses to I-World Expo

  1. Prokofy Neva says:

    The Lindens shouldn’t be competing with their own customers. This is another bad idea, that FICs up pretty fast.

  2. Well, they had the Stillman freebie bazaar for a while now. It seems like they are expanding into a grid of their own. However, I am hoping it is more of an informational spot to really “help” people rather than for people to simply grab-n-go. I’m thinking it is mostly the public works people working on it. I just hope they don’t let it fade away once they have a good thing going. They had better provide an easy way to teleport to popular freebie places as well. (touch to get landmark/slurl).

  3. […] place that could compete with Yadni??s Junkyard. The idea is to setup a centralized place to get frehttps://dedricmauriac.wordpress.com/2008/03/29/i-world-expo/Web Exclusives San Francisco Bay ViewPolitical prisoner Bashir Hameed called on Friday asking for […]

