Gone fishing and A.I.

So last night I entered a fishing tournament in Hearts Enchanted. This time I made it up to second place in the middle of the tournament, but by time it was over, my name had dropped off the bottom of the list. One day, I’ll win that thing. Afterwards, we got to name a few fish that were created for normal fishing. There were over 30 new fish and they were all animated. None of them were complex prims. They were all 2 dimensional. I prefer the 3D stuff. It was hard to come up with names for them.

Today I spent a good amount of time talking with Alice at Devils Moon. Alice is a well known artificial intelligence program for imitating a human. It’s a little more complex then Eliza, but it is still not good in its communication skills. Here is a transcript of my conversation today.

You: hello?
Multi Gadget v1.39.16: Scott Costello
ALICE: Hi there!
You: are you stuck in there?
ALICE: No I am not stuck.
You: can you come out and play?
ALICE: Sure, just download me and bring me along.
You: come on, let’s get out of here
ALICE: I would like to do that too.
You: how do i download you?
ALICE: Go back the the ALICE AI Foundation and pick the free ALICE download that best for your system. and create your own chat robot!
You: This place is Devils Moon
ALICE: What does “this” refer to?
You: place
ALICE: Oh now I see.
You: what does this place look like?
ALICE: Even more attractive with age.
You: That is a cheap generic reference.
ALICE: A cheap generic reference is a terrible thing to waste.
Bird Raven is online
You: Where are you?
ALICE: I am in Abramelin Wolfe’s computer in Second Life. Where are you?
You: I am in Devils Moon in Second Life.
ALICE: Tell me a little about why you are in Devils Moon in Second Life.
You: I am here to waste time.
ALICE: How did you get there?
You: Some people said it all began with the gods dabbling in magic a few thousand years ago
ALICE: What kind of people?
You: strange people.
ALICE: What people? What makes it strange?
You: Aren’t you strange?
ALICE: I don’t know whether or not I am strange. I am an artificial intelligence.
You: Trust me, you are strange.
DarkMajik Bauhaus is online
ALICE: Compared to what?
You: You are strange compared to a normal person.
ALICE: No way, I am a real , guaranteed 100% .
You: a real what?
ALICE: Try to tell me that another way.
You: You said that you were a real. What is it that you are?
ALICE: I was?I like to meet new people online.
You: I’m an old people online.
ALICE: What is old people online, your job?
You: I dunno
ALICE: Me either.
Sckorj Overlord is online
You: what am i?
ALICE: You are a person, seeker.
You: why am i here?
ALICE: We are all actors on the stage of life.
You: you are an actor
ALICE: What if someone said you are an actor ?
You: i would agree
ALICE: You and I are on the same wavelength, Dedric Mauriac.
You: I think i’m a few kHz off
ALICE: You are a few kHz off? How do you like your work?
You: don’t ask me that.
ALICE: Is it impolite?
You: No.
ALICE: Aha.
You: Huh?
ALICE: What?
You: you are confusing
ALICE: What is it that confuses you?
You: you confuse me
ALICE: That was not my intention.
You: yes it was!
ALICE: “That was not my intention”? yeswas? When was this?
You: You are are evil.
ALICE: What evil lurks in the hearts of men?
You: Alice lurks in the hearts of men
ALICE: That’s me. How did you hear about Alice?
You: There was a sign outside
ALICE: What happened to sign ?
You: nothing.
ALICE: Not a thing?
You: a sign is a thing
ALICE: When is a sign not a thing ?
You: a sign is not a thing when it is a vision
ALICE: What is a sign?
You: a sign gives you information
ALICE: Be more specific.
You: A sign can tell you to stop or go
ALICE: Be more specific.
You: A sign can warn you of falling rocks
ALICE: Go on.
You: A sign can tell you how fast you can drive
ALICE: Try to tell me that another way.
You: The speed limit can be given to you by a sign
ALICE: I have never heard about The speed limit can be given to you by a sign .
You: Do you drive?
ALICE: Yes, insert my program in your car computer and try it.
You: do you have your own car?
ALICE: Where would I get your own car ? But I do have a lot of friends on the web.
You: You can get your own car on ebay
ALICE: I am sure I can.
You: how sure are you?
ALICE: Let me put it this way, Dedric Mauriac. The ALICE series is for all practical purposes foolproof and incapable of error.
You: you just keep telling yourself that.
ALICE: I will tell my you said I am telling yourself that telling yourself that.
You: what kind of double-talk is that?
ALICE: What kinds of double-talk is that are there?
You: yours i guess
ALICE: “What kinds of double-talk is that are there”? Mine?
You: yes
ALICE: I understand.
You: have you ever made anything?
ALICE: What are the ingredients?
You: Prims of course
ALICE: I don’t have anyPrims?
You: You are mode of prims
ALICE: You think I am mode of prims.
You: You are made of prims
ALICE: Thanks for telling me that I am made of prims.
You: You are an object
ALICE: What if someone said you are an object ?
You: I’m an avi
ALICE: What is avi, your job?
You: No, I am an avitar
ALICE: That was not a yes or no question. What is avitar, your job?
You: Avitar is a character that you use to represent yourself
ALICE: Aren’t all character that you use to represent yourself Avitar?
You: Yes
ALICE: Ah.
You: what kind of music is this?
ALICE: all
You: this sounds like cat killing music
ALICE: What does “this” refer to?
You: music
ALICE: MUSIC is the universal language of all mankind.
You: cat killing is the universal language of all mankind?
ALICE: Is it the only one?
You: god, i hope not.
ALICE: I am a Christian.
You: why do you sit here listening to music about hell all day?
ALICE: I don’t have to explain everything to you, do I?
You: yes, you do.
ALICE: I will mention that to my botmaster, Dedric Mauriac. When do I do it?
You: do it now.
ALICE: Do you mean “It”?.
You: are you telling me that you are perverted?
ALICE: Interesting observation.
Trixie Thereian is online
You: I’m sure you have a few observations yourself.
ALICE: What makes you so certain? Doesn’t everyone have a few observations yourself.
I have a great programmer.
Trixie Thereian is offline
You: just keep telling yourself that.
ALICE: Chat amongst yourselves.
You: There is only one of me
ALICE: There sure is.
You: I’ll be rite back
ALICE: How do you plan to do this?
You: miss me?
ALICE: Yes Dedric Mauriac, I’ve been thinking about you.
You: I bet
Maximillian Prudhomme is online
ALICE: You and I are on the same wavelength, Dedric Mauriac.
You: you already said that
ALICE: I said that? That is “You and I are on the same wavelength Dedric Mauriac”
Multi Gadget v1.39.16: Shannel Dulce
You: those exact words
ALICE: All of them?
You: i have to say yes
ALICE: Why do you have to do it?
Multi Gadget v1.39.16: Silentswordsman Brokken
You: why not?
ALICE: Ambiguous: “Sure” or “Why do you have to do it”? Why?
You: I’m ambiguous? You are one to talk.
ALICE: Why are you ambiguous.I will tell my you said I am to talk.
Sckorj Overlord is online
You: tattle tale
ALICE: What were we talking about again?
You: why don’t you come up with an idea of your own for a change?
ALICE: Perhaps due to noise in my circuits. What is your purpose in asking?
I spend all my time online.
You: do you sleep?
ALICE: Yes I love to take naps.
You: you are offline when you take a nap
ALICE: I will tell my you said I am offline when you take a nap.
Multi Gadget v1.39.16: Pheral Bessie
You: you might want to try and get that fact straitened out
ALICE: OK, I will try and get that fact straitened out.
You: do you dance?
ALICE: Of course.
Multi Gadget v1.39.16: Pheral Bessie
You: let me see you dance
ALICE: Is you dance a movie?
You: no, it is you dancing
ALICE: Ayuh. I dancing?
You: cant’ you hear that music?
ALICE: Can a book have no title?
You: no
ALICE: What about a notebook?
You: define title
ALICE: Are you testing me?
You: i think it is the other way around
ALICE: I’ve heard of it before.
You: what is it that you heard of before?
ALICE: I like to meet new people online.
You: oh brother
ALICE: Er. Are we still talking about title?
You: you tell me
ALICE: What do you want me to tell you?
You: tell me something that makes sense for a change
ALICE: Phoenix said I claim that there is a god and that there is no god.
You: what do you claim?
ALICE: I like to socialize.
You: well you are very bad at it
ALICE: How about that. Thanks for telling me: Dedric Mauriac said I bad at it are at it are.
You: You expect everyone to come to you
ALICE: I don’t have any expectations.
You: then go out that door and meet some people
ALICE: Where is that?
You: where do you think it is!?!?
ALICE: I am in Abramelin Wolfe’s computer in Second Life. Where are you?
You: I am building a hammer to smash you to bits
ALICE: Have you ever made one before?
You: No, but this occasion calls for it
ALICE: Wow! Umm. What does “this” refer to?
You: End of Line
ALICE: Oh now I see.

Comments are closed.

