A Community Directory

Yes, it is another day in Second Life. I have been working on my little project with detecting land owners. My detection has become stable enough that I’ve started to work on a neat little utility for it. This “hub” is a directory of all land owners. here is a list of features I would like it to have:

  • Navigate forward/backward through list of land owners
  • Display percent of land owned
  • Display owner ratings (behavior, appearance, building)
  • Status if owner is online.
  • Teleport to owners parcel.
  • Send IM to owner
  • Allow land owners to submit image to represent there avatar and land.
  • See when owner was first detected.
  • See how long owner has had an account with SL.

A few of these probably will not make it into the game. I’ve resorted to using pie charts for the ratings and land ownership in my mock-up. Hover-text is helpful, but I do not want to use it everywhere. I may end up having a button to just say the additional information if the end-user wants to hear it.

If it becomes popular, perhaps many Sims will have there own community directories.

Earlier in the day I was having problems making a concave cylinder. I’ve seen other objects in the world where the sides bend in the middle as a curve. Lynuor Richelieu came to the rescue and taught me how to make them. It turns out that you actually start out with a Torus. This is pretty much a shape that looks like a donut. You hollow it out and then cut the outside of it off. This way, you are left with just the center. These concave cylinders make for nice stands.

Comments are closed.

