Mocking up hexagon tiles for a dungeon map building game

I needed to mock up a few graphics and found that Second Life was a good 3D graphics package to create some quick graphics to print out and play test.

Image

I first started out building up a crude hexagon with some basic textures I had in my inventory.

Image

I added some lights and setup my camera to look strait down at the tile. This is the image I can use to print off.

Image

When I was looking at different options available for me to print with The  Game Crafter, I cut up some index cards to match the dimensions and get a visual on their actual sizes.

Image

My first attempt at determining how to tiles would look. I started out by making a system of caves.

Image

Over time, I made many different versions of tiles. Some where used just to identify the possible combinations rather than looking like tiles. I created tons of tiles and kept working at different ways to use them.
ImageI created a template on a 8.5×11 sheet of paper that I could use to draw more tiles at a high resolution. The idea was to draw each tile using the template to trace from, and then reduce the scanned tile to fit within the size of the hex tile.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

